Photo of New Life Classes Bishopston

Bristol: Bishopston

We run a programme of six antenatal courses each year in Bishopston, you can find all the dates below. Ideally you will be between 28-32 weeks pregnant at the start of your antenatal class, so there is some flexibility on which course is best for you.

Birth partners play an important role in supporting you at all stages in your journey to becoming a parent – we therefore advise that your birth partner attends antenatal classes with you, whether it’s the Dad, a relative or friend. Our course fee includes your birth partner, there are no extra costs.

Course Leader 

Emma Scourse runs the Bishopston antenatal classes. Her professional experience is a great resource for you both within your antenatal classes, and in the extra support she offers you in this exciting journey into parenthood. Whether via the class Facebook group – or private chats, if you have more personal questions, even between sessions.

Emma Scourse

Photo of Emma Scourse, Course Leader, Bishopston antenatal classes

Emma qualified as a midwife in 2016 and currently works as a rotational midwife. She brings a wide variety of experience to the role. She has cared for women on both antenatal and postnatal wards; Delivered NHS antenatal classes in the community; Supported midwives in delivering more than 40 babies at home, in midwife-led units including Cossham and on delivery suite at Southmead.

She  believes all women and their partners should have access to comprehensive, evidence-based antenatal education; as this plays an important role in preparing them for the transition into parenthood.

Venue for Bishopston antenatal classes

Photo of Horfield Baptist Church, venue for New Life Classes antenatal classes in Bishopston

 

Horfield Baptist Church
279 Gloucester Road
Bishopston, Bristol
BS7 8NY
(Entrance to venue: Brynland Avenue)

Free on street parking is available.

Antenatal class programme

Our course programme consists of six teaching sessions across a five-week period. Plus, a reunion after all the babies arrive. The course costs £249.

  • Session one: Understanding your third trimester
  • Session two: Labour – all your questions answered
  • Session three: Planning for the unexpected
  • Session four: Feeding your baby
  • Session five: Life changes with a baby!
  • Session six: Caring for your newborn
  • Session seven: Reunion

To find out more about the content of each session, please click here. Check out what our customers have to say about the classes on our testimonials page.

Upcoming Bishopston antenatal classes

January – February 2018 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 2nd November
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday, 4th November (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 9th November
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 16th November
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 23rd November
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 30th November

 

March – April 2018 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 4th January
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday,  6th January (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 11th January
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 18th Janaury
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 25th January
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 1st February

 

 May – June 2018 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 1st March
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday,  3rd March (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 8th March
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 15th March
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 22nd March
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 29th March

 

 July – August 2018 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 3rd May
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday,  5th May (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 10th May
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 17th May
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 24th May
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 31st May

 

 September – October 2018 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 5th July
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday, 7th July (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 12th July
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 19th July
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 26th July
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 2nd August

 

 November – December 2018 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 30th August
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday, 1st September (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 6th September
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 13th September
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 20th September
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 27th September

 

January – February 2019 due dates

19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 25th October
10.00 – 14.00, Saturday, 27th October (Lunch is provided)
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 1st November
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 8th November
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 15th November
19.00 – 21.00, Thursday, 22nd November